Skip to main content




  • Director, Institute of Advanced Study, 2008-present
  • Professor of Chemistry, Durham University, 2005
  • Director of the Oxford Science Park, 1997-2003
  • Fellow of Magdalen College, Oxford, 1991-2005
  • University Lecturer in Physical Chemistry, Oxford University, 1991-2005
  • Fellow of Christ’s College, Cambridge, 1988-91
  • Royal Society Research Fellow, Cambridge University, 1988-91
    (working with Dr. Paul Davies)
  • PhD in Physical Chemistry, Harvard University, 1989
    (research advisor: Prof. George Whitesides)
    (thesis title: Self-Assembled Monolayer Films of Thiols on Gold)
  • B.A. (Hons) in Natural Science, Corpus Christi College, Cambridge, 1983

Professional Activities

  • Member of the Royal Society of Chemistry, American Chemical Society, Society of Applied Spectroscopy and European Molecular Liquids Group
  • Editorial Board of Langmuir, ChemPhysChem and Soft Matter
  • EPSRC College and Panel member
  • Investment Committee and Conferences Committee, Royal Society of Chemistry
  • Scientific Advisory Board, Oxford Capital Partners
  • Scientific Advisory Board, Max Planck Institute for Colloid and Interface Research

Honours, Awards & Fellowships

  • Tilden Lecturer 2008
  • Craig Lecturer 2008 (ANU, Canberra)
  • Lectureship Award (Division of Colloid and Surface Chemistry), Chemical Society of Japan, 2005
  • McBain Lecturer, National Chemical Laboratory, Pune, India, 2005
  • Visiting Fellow, Indian Institute of Science, 2005
  • Visiting Scientist, Ian Wark Research Institute, Adelaide, Australia, 2005
  • RSC-RACI Exchange Medal, 2003
  • Corday-Morgan Medal of the Royal Society of Chemistry, 2000
  • Harrison Memorial Prize of the Royal Society of Chemistry, 1992
  • Mr. and Mrs John JaffĂ© Donation Research Fellowship, 1988-91
  • IBM Fellowship, 1985-86
  • Choate Fellowship, 1983-84
  • Norrish Prize, 1983
  • Foundation Scholar, CCCC, 1981-83
Group photo 2005
Group photo 2014
Group photo 2018